Referee's Q & A

Question: Two players have a break away behind the second-to-last defender with only the GK between them and the goal. The player with the ball makes a backward heel pass to the trailing player that takes the shot and scores. Is this an offside situation?

Answer: The player receiving the pass must be closer to the goal than the ball to be offside. No foul.

Question: A player takes a free kick to restart play. The opposing players are withdrawing, but they have not yet withdrawn the mandatory 10 distance. The ball goes directly to an opposing player only three metres from the spot of the kick. The opposing player, without moving to interfere with the original kick, intercepts the ball. The referee should?

Answer: Play on. No foul. The player re-starting the ball should wait for the defence to retreat the mandatory distance.

Question: A pass made to a player in an offside position, but is intercepted by the second-to-last defender, should the Assistant Referee signal offside.

Answer: The answer is yes and no. The Assistant Referee should give a pause to see what develops. If player B (A is offence and B is defence) misplays the ball and A gains possession, A is offside. If B clearly plays the ball and/or clears it out of the defensive area (some people think it has to be the defensive half of the field), then no signal is warranted. This (delay) can cause fans to scream and yell about a late call but it is good officiating. Remember, advantage is a big part of the game. Another way of looking at it is that A never was involved in the play so cannot be offside. If A tackles the ball and gains possession, he can be called offside as in above.

Question: Can a player get red carded after the game was over and is it a foul to yell out, "mine", when going for the ball?

Answer: The International F. A. Board and FIFA have made it clear that no one may be shown the card after the final whistle. However, the referee is still expected to provide full details on the incident in the match report.

No, it has never been a "foul" to call out "mine" when going for the ball, but it is misconduct and subject to a caution and yellow card for unsporting behaviour if, in the opinion of the referee, the player's action was intended to deceive an opponent unfairly. Just calling out "mine" is not misconduct.

Question: What are fouls and what results from each?

Answer: There are nine major fouls, which would results in a direct free kick outside the penalty area. It results in a penalty kick if committed inside own penalty area. Nine out of ten times this means you give up a goal. The nine major fouls are:

Handling the ball using handsPushing (shoulder to shoulder charge is not a foul)HittingTrippingHoldingKickingJumping at an opponentCharging violentlyCharging from behind

According to new changes in the laws, referee may punish tackles from behind with a red card as this does not give the player the opportunity to protect himself and cause serious injuries.

The final fouls, which are punished by indirect kicks, are:

Dangerous play (usually high kicking)ObstructionDelaying the gameCharging away from the ballUnsportsman like (usually mouthing off)Charging the goalie in the goal areaGoalie taking more than six seconds after catching the ball with his hands.

Question: The ball has gone out of play for a corner kick for team A. Who is allowed to substitute?

a. Only team A.

b. Both team A and team B.

c. Team A, and team B only if team A wishes to substitute.

d. Only team B.

e. Neither team A nor team B.

Answer: b. Both team A and team B.

Question: In the first half of play, a shot is taken on goal and the assistant referee signals the ball entered the goal. The referee disagrees and does not award the goal. At halftime, a spectator who was video taping the game shows that the ball did, in fact, cross the goal line. Can the goal still be awarded?

a. No, a decision that a goal was not scored cannot be changed after play has been restarted.

b. Yes, the goal does count and the game must be replayed from that point.

c. Yes, the goal does count, but the game continues starting with the second half.

d. No, the goal does not count, but the game must be replayed from that point.

Answer: a. No, a decision that a goal was not scored cannot be changed after play has been restarted.